Compact Surge Protection for E-Charging Stations and Wall Boxes

Garching, 26.07.2022 – With the expansion of the charging infrastructure for e-mobility in Germany, the need for safe charging solutions is growing. Raycap, an international manufacturer of surge protection, connectivity, and monitoring, is expanding its range of surge protection components for e-car charging stations with the new ProTec T2C EV. This particularly compact module easily fits into small charging stations and wall boxes.

As of June 2022, there were 58,926 charging points for e-cars across Germany. By 2025, the demand for private and public charging points is expected to increase to 250,000. Overvoltage protection is mandatory for all publicly accessible charging infrastructures for electric vehicles to protect people and connected vehicles from damage in the event of a surge event. However, surge protection is also necessary in the private sector, for example, for wall boxes installed in residences or offices, on the one hand, to protect the investment and prevent damage to the vehicle and, in the worst case, people on the other.

Compact design, especially for e-charging stations

However, a single surge protection solution cannot cover a complete charging scenario. That’s why Raycap, an expert in e-mobility infrastructure protection, has developed different surge protection solutions specifically for this application: whether for the AC or DC area, for small charging stations in the private and public sector, or for fast charging stations.

Now Raycap has added the ProTec T2C-EV to its proven product portfolio. With its compact design, this type 2+3 surge protection component is designed to fit in small charging stations or wall boxes. Thus, the ProTec T2C-EV also covers private charging stations that are not already sufficiently protected against surge damage via the house connection. The ProTec T2C-EV is particularly quick and easy to install with its different connection options: Either with a Faston connection or a matching cable set. The latter allows the installer to assemble the cable lengths, ensuring a precisely fitting and space-saving installation. Raycap’s many years of miniaturization expertise have gone into developing the ProTec T2C-EV: Reliable protection in the smallest space. The solution is now available.

Kompakter Überspannungsschutz für E-Ladestationen und Wallboxes

Garching, 26.07.2022 – Mit dem Ausbau der Ladeinfrastruktur für E-Mobilität in Deutschland wächst der Bedarf an Lösungen für ein sicheres Laden. Raycap, internationaler Hersteller von Elektronikkomponenten für Überspannungsschutz, Connectivity und Monitoring, erweitert mit dem neuen ProTec T2C-EV sein Sortiment an Überspannungsschutz-Komponenten für E-Auto-Ladestationen um eine besonders kompakte Komponente, die problemlos Platz in kleinen Ladesäulen und Wallboxes findet.

Im Juni 2022 gab es deutschlandweit 58.926 Ladepunkte für E-Autos. Bis 2025 steigt der Bedarf an privaten und öffentlichen Ladepunkten voraussichtlich auf 250.000. Bei allen öffentlich zugänglichen Ladeinfrastrukturen für Elektrofahrzeuge ist ein Überspannungsschutz vorgeschrieben, um im Falle eines Überspannungsereignisses Menschen und angeschlossene Fahrzeuge vor Schäden zu schützen. Doch auch im privaten Bereich, beispielsweise bei Wallboxes, ist Überspannungsschutz notwendig, um einerseits die Investition zu schützen und andererseits Schäden am Fahrzeug und, schlimmstenfalls, Personen zu vermeiden.

Kompakte Bauweise speziell für E-Ladesäulen

Allerdings kann eine einzelne Überspannungsschutzlösung nicht ein komplettes Ladeszenario abdecken. Deshalb hat Raycap als Experte für den Schutz der E-Mobility-Infrastruktur unterschiedliche Überspannungsschutzlösungen speziell für diesen Bereich entwickelt: ob für den AC- oder DC-Bereich, für kleine Ladestationen im privaten und öffentlichen Bereich oder für Schnellladestationen.

Nun hat Raycap sein seit Jahren bewährtes Produktportfolio um den ProTec T2C-EV erweitert. Diese Typ 2+3-Überspannungsschutzkomponente ist mit ihrer kompakten Bauweise eigens dafür ausgelegt, in kleinen Ladestationen oder Wallboxes Platz zu finden. Damit deckt der ProTec T2C-EV auch private Ladestationen ab, die nicht bereits über den Hausanschluss ausreichend vor Überspannungsschäden geschützt sind. Der ProTec T2C-EV ist dank seiner unterschiedlichen Anschlussmöglichkeiten besonders schnell und einfach zu installieren: Wahlweise mit Faston-Anschluss oder einem passenden Kabelset. Letzteres ermöglicht es, die Kabellängen selbst zu konfektionieren, sodass ein passgenauer und platzsparender Einbau möglich ist. In die Entwicklung des ProTec T2C-EV ist die jahrelange Miniaturisierungs-Expertise von Raycap eingeflossen: Zuverlässiger Schutz auf kleinstem Raum. Die Lösung ist ab sofort verfügbar.